24
Apr
07

HADITH….. RE-EVALUATION


By Kassim Ahmad

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TRANSLATOR’S NOTE iv

AUTHOR’S PREFACE TO THE ORIGINAL EDITION v

AUTHOR’S PREFACE TO THIS TRANSLATION vii

FOREWORD By Prof. Hassan Hanafi of the University of Cairo xi

CHAPTER I Introduction: Why we raise this Problem 1

CHAPTER II Refutation of the Traditionalist’s Theory 21

CHAPTER III Source, Basis and Effects of the Hadith 50

CHAPTER IV Criticism of the Hadith 76

CHAPTER V Conclusion:

Return to Prophet Muhammad’s Original Teaching — the Quran 106

ADDENDUM A Scientific Methodology for Understanding the Quran 126

BIBLIOGRAPHY AND LIST OF ABBREVIATIONS 152

INDEX 157

TRANSLATOR’S NOTE

I have undertaken this translation of Dr. Kassim Ahmad’s important book, entitled Hadis — Satu Penilaian Semula in its original Malay, published in Malaysia in 1986, because I thought that a wider readership of this book is beneficial. There has also been much pressure from the non-Malay literate public to translate it.

I have undertaken this translation voluntarily and also as a process to educate myself. By any yardstick, this is an important subject. I am therefore obliged to Dr. Kassim for having agreed to allow me this opportunity.

At the time of this translation, Dr. Kassim’s book has been banned by the authorities in Malaysia. The efficacy of banning a book, whose very purpose depends on readers exercising critical and fair judgement, does not do justice to the intellectual growth of our people. I hope that this ban will be lifted.

May God bless those who seek to obey Him and His messenger and who uphold the Scripture.

Translator

Kuala Lumpur, 1987.

AUTHOR’S PREFACE TO THE ORIGINAL EDITION

This book consists of five talks on the same topic, “Hadith — A Re-Evaluation” at the National University of Malaysia organized by the Department of Anthropology and Sociology. The background to these talks has been given in Chapter I.

This subject truly needs a larger volume and a much more comprehensive research. I have had to take a short cut due to the particular circumstances of the talks. I sincerely hope that the book achieves its purpose.

I would like to express my highest appreciation and thanks to the University’s Department of Anthropology and Sociology (with the kind permission and blessing of the University’s authorities) which was brave enough to organize these talks, in spite of the “sensitive” nature of the topic. I would like also to thank the Hon. Minister for Education who intervened to allow the talks to go on after they were first cancelled by the University authorities.

I must also thank the just and fair-minded people of Malaysia who spontaneously rose to demand that the talks be held.

I owe a debt of gratitude to several friends who, at my request, have gone over the drafts of the talks and made useful comments and criticisms. I am also very grateful to many ordinary people in Malaysia and Singapore and to friends in the United States who gave me their unstinting encouragement and support as I wrestled to prepare and complete the talks.

KASSIM AHMAD

Kuala Lumpur,

17 March, 1986.

http://www.quran.org/library/articles/ahmad0.htm

2 Responses to “HADITH….. RE-EVALUATION”


  1. August 22, 2014 at 1:14 am

    I believe that is among the most significant info for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. However wanna remark on some normal
    things, The website taste is wonderful, the articles is
    truly nice : D. Good process, cheers

  2. August 24, 2014 at 7:34 am

    Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old
    daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off
    topic but I had to tell someone!


Leave a Reply

Stefan Rosty Founded TruthBooth22.04.07

  • 466,630 hitz

“Virtual Insanity”

That's not nature's way Well that's what they said yesterday There's nothing left to do but pray I think it's time I found a new religion Waoh - it's so insane To synthesize another strain There's something in these Futures that we have to be told. JAMIROQUAI

RSS Genuine Islam

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

trashcontentz (by day)

April 2007
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

trashcontentz (by month)

Bookmarks

RSS RationalReality.com

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Selves and Others

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS المؤلف: احمد صبحي منصور


